Topic: Class idea using Loyalty and Summon

Hello everybody.

I'm new to LotFP and to the classic style dungeon crawl games in general.  I played a little D&D in high school (3.5), but since then have been playing Gumshoe games and FATE games.

In any case, I have a question for those more familiar with the system.

I really like the concept of the Summon spell and the random generation of a creature you then have to control.  While going through the original rules, I was intrigued by the Loyalty mechanic and the use of Charisma as a method to help enforce this.

Swapping the typical domination rules, I would like to make a class that summons an individual creature and creates a pact/bond with that creature to maintain long-term control over it.  The creature would be randomly generated using the Summon spell or something else of GM's choice and the same hiring process for Retainers would be used for this creature (though probably with a different method of compensation).

The class would probably just grab the Magic-Users Exp, HP, and Saves and swap out spells for a bonus to Loyalty rolls that helps keep control.

The player could also save vs. magic to summon the creature to his current location or to attempt to banish the creature back to its home plane (perhaps modified by the creatures hit dice?).  This would allow the player to replace the creature as they play, but would keep the original method of randomly generating each time a new creature is acquired (and require the "hiring" process to be used each time).

What are your thoughts on this?  I know its a pretty rough concept, but I've enjoyed Summoner/Monster Trainer characters in different games in different settings and like the idea of the player having to manage a physical resource that might not be welcome in settlements or certain areas.

As a side note, I might up the magic in LotFP games a little bit and bring in more of the flashy magic if that helps make any determinations about this concept.